Thursday, 26 November 2015

The tribes of West Nile, Uganda

Arua the capital of west nile is located 440km from Kampala. It is bordered with South Sudan to the north and Congo to the west. West Nile is made up of eight districts. Nebbi, Zombo, Arua, Maracha, Koboko, Yumbe, Moyo and Adjumani.
The predominant tribes of West Nile are Alur, Lugbara, Kakwa and Aringa
The Alur are mainly in Nebbi, Zombo and Arua districts.But on a larger level the Alur live in Northwest Uganda, North Eastern DRC and are part of the Luo group.
The Ma'di people are found in Magwi County in the Sudan, and in Adjumani and Moyo districts in Uganda.
The Kakwa are an ethnic group of Nilotic origin residing in northwestern Uganda, south western South Sudan, and northeastern Democratic Republic of the Congo. They are part of the Karo people (East Africa), who also include the Bari, Pojulu, Mundari, Kuku and Nyangwara.
The Third President of Uganda was born into the Kakwa ethnic group.
Aringa is an ethnic group in the northwestern corner of Uganda, north of Lake Albert. The majority live in the rural areas of Yumbe District just south of the Sudanese border, and to a lesser extent in other areas of West Nile sub-region. They are considered the indigenous people of their lands, which was later settled by so-called "Nubians". They speak Aringa language, a Central Sudanic language.
Aringa, like the neighboring Kakwa people were blamed by other groups in Uganda for doing Idi Amin's "dirty work" in the 1970s. Idi Amin was a Kakwa and his vice president Mustafa Adrisi an Aringa.
The aringa predominantly occupy Yumbe district. The community is predominantly Moslem.
The tribes of West Nile are friendly and social. This also contributes positively to the commerce of the region. Vibrant commerce mainly attributed to the Sudan and Congolese borders.
This is a region every body should visit.

No comments:

Post a Comment